Botswana Lesotho Namibia South Africa About Tutorial Glossary Document Centre Image Gallery Maps Google Earth
Home The River Basin People and the River Governance Meeting the Water Challenge


send a general website comment

report a specific problem with this page

Southern African Development Community (SADC):

SADC Water Sector


Established in 1980, the Southern African Development Community (SADC) is an international organisation with 15 member states: Angola, Botswana, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe (SADC 2009).

The SADC Declaration by the Heads of State or Government of Southern African States was adopted in 1992 and the SADC Treaty came into effect in 1993 (Cillers 1995). The overarching goal of the organisation is to enhance socio-economic development, regional integration and the quality of life of all people in the region.

The SADC Secretariat consists of four Directorates:

  • Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources
  • Trade, Industry, Finance and Investment
  • Infrastructure and Services
  • Social and Human Development

The SADC Water Division, within the SADC Directorate of Infrastructure & Services, is tasked with overall coordination and management of the SADC Water Programme.

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) region.
( click to enlarge )



Explore the sub-basins of the Orange-Senqu River

Explore the principles of Integrated Water Resource Management applied to the Orange-Senqu

Learn about water governance in the Orange-Senqu basin

Tour video scenes along the Orange-Senqu River related to Governance

You are here: Home Page > Governance > Southern African Development Community (SADC) > SADC Water Sector